About Bill

Short Bio

Bill Taylor is a writer, speaker, and entrepreneur who chronicles the best ways to compete, innovate, and succeed. As cofounder and founding editor of Fast Company, Bill launched a magazine that won countless awards, earned a passionate following among executives and entrepreneurs around the world, and became a legendary business success. In less than six years, an enterprise that took shape in borrowed office space in Harvard Square sold for $340 million. Fast Company celebrated its twentieth anniversary in October 2015 and continues shape the global conversation about business.

Since starting Fast Company, Bill has also written three books on leadership and change. His new book, Simply Brilliant: How Great Organizations Do Ordinary Things in Extraordinary Ways, will be published on September 20, 2016. His last book, Practically Radical, was a Wall Street Journal bestseller. His previous book, Mavericks at Work, was a New York Times bestseller and was named a “Business Book of the Year” by The Economist and the Financial Times.

Bill created the “Under New Management” column for The New York Times and has published numerous essays and CEO interviews in the Harvard Business Review. He now blogs regularly for HBR.

A graduate of Princeton University and the MIT Sloan School of Management, Bill lives outside of Boston with his wife and two daughters.


Long Bio

William C. Taylor is an agenda-setting writer, speaker and entrepreneur who chronicles the best ways to compete, innovate and succeed. His new book, Simply Brilliant: How Great Organizations Do Ordinary Things in Extraordinary Ways, offers a set of messages and a collection of case studies about how to unleash breakthrough creativity and cutting-edge performance in even the most familiar, slow-to-change fields. Simply Brilliant will be published on September 20, 2016 by Portfolio, the business imprint of Penguin Random House. The book offers leadership lessons from organizations that are doing exciting, compelling, truly extraordinary things, but in traditional, accessible, ordinary settings. It draws on in-depth access to retail banks, insurance companies, fast-food joints, department stores, an office-cleaning service, heartland manufacturers, industrial distributors, even a parking garage. It also draws on case studies that are not businesses per se: a nationwide campaign to end homelessness, the health-care system for Native Alaskans, a project to revitalize a major city.

Simply Brilliant is a sequel of sorts to Bill’s most recent book, Practically Radical: Not-So-Crazy Ways to Transform Your Company, Shake Up Your Industry, and Challenge Yourself, which was published in January 2011. Bestselling author Daniel H. Pink called Practically Radical “the most powerful and instructive change manual you’ll ever read.” Anne Mulcahy, former chairman and CEO of Xerox, called it “a handbook for successful transformation and a great tutorial for implementing your change agenda.” Arianna Huffington says: “The ideas are fresh, the advice is stuff you can actually use, and the results will be tangible.”

Before Practically Radical, Bill published Mavericks at Work: Why the Most Original Minds in Business Win. “I didn’t just ‘read’ this book, I devoured it!” declared Tom Peters when Mavericks appeared. James J. Cramer, co-founder of TheStreet.com and host of CNBC’s Mad Money with Jim Cramer, had this to say: “If Mavericks at Work had come out before I started TheStreet.com, I could have saved my investors (and myself) $100 million—because I would have been able to take the lessons in the book and apply them every day to my business.” Just weeks after its release, Mavericks became a New York Times Best Seller, a Wall Street Journal Business Best Seller and a BusinessWeek Best Seller. The Economist called the book “a pivotal work in the tradition of In Search of Excellence and Good to Great.” The Economist also named Mavericks one of its “Books of the Year” for 2006, as did The Financial Times.

Bill’s three books are just the latest chapter in a career devoted to challenging conventional wisdom and showcasing the power of business at its best. As cofounder and founding editor of Fast Company, he launched a magazine that won countless awards, earned a passionate following among executives and entrepreneurs around the world—and became a legendary business success. In less than six years, an enterprise that took shape in some borrowed office space in Harvard Square sold for $340 million.

Fast Company has won just about every award there is to win in the magazine world, from “Startup of the Year” to “Magazine of the Year” to three National Magazine Awards. In recognition of Fast Company’s impact on business, Bill was named “Champion of Workplace Learning and Performance” by the American Society of Training and Development. Past winners include Jack Welch of GE and Fred Smith of FedEx. Bill has published numerous essays and CEO interviews in the Harvard Business Review, and his column, “Under New Management,” ran in the Sunday Business section of The New York Times. He now writes a popular management blog for Harvard Business Review.
A graduate of Princeton University and the MIT Sloan School of Management, he lives in Wellesley, Massachusetts, with his wife and two daughters.

simply_brilliant_book

Order my new book, Simply Brilliant by September 20th, and get awesome bonuses!

Here’s what you’ll get when you order Simply Brilliant:

Simply Brilliant Discussion Guide a helpful discussion guide that will help you get the most out of the ideas in the book.

Signed Bookplates for your copy of Simply Briliant, I'll send out signed bookplates you can use.

Sneak peaks at early chapters we'll send you a few of the chapters so that you can get started reading the book right away.

An exclusive interview with Seth Godin about where innovation really comes from, and the challenges of the industrial workplace